Utah Sex Offender List Information
Under Code 77-27-21.5 of the Utah state laws, it is the responsibility of the Utah Department of Corrections to develop and maintain a registry of criminals who have been found guilty of certain sexual offenses. In addition to keeping a record of sex offenders, the Department of Corrections also maintains the records of those convicted of kidnapping. For more information on the types of offenses, listed under 77-27-21.5 (1) (g) or (n) of the Utah statute, you can contact the Utah Department of Corrections at http://corrections.utah.gov/contentservices/registration.asp.
Which Offenders Are Required to Register?
According to Utah law, adult offenders who have been convicted of certain sexual offenses or kidnapping must register with the sex offender registry. Juvenile sex offenders who were found guilty of any of the offenses requiring registration in Utah or juvenile offenders who were in the custody of the Juvenile Justice Services before they reached 21 years of age are also required to register. In addition, individuals who were found guilty of a sexual offense but were released due to mental illness, and are now committed to a state hospital, must also register.
Sex offenders in Utah must register when they are placed on parole or probation, or are committed to a correctional facility that is run by, or falls under the supervision of, the Utah Department of Corrections. Sex offenders moving to Utah from another state must register with the local law enforcement agencies within ten days of arriving in Utah.
Utah state law requires all sex offenders to report the appropriate law enforcement agencies about any change in their residency, employment status, workplace address, vehicle, or educational institution within three business days of the change. A Utah sex offender must also register every six months: once in his or her month of birth, and then again six months after the birthday.
Duration of the Registration
The duration of registration for sex offenders depends on their convictions. An offender's registration term lasts between ten years and the rest of his or her life. Since July of 2006, sex offenders from any other state who relocate to Utah must register for either the required length of time under the laws of the previous state or under the laws of Utah, whichever is longer. Sex offenders who relocate to Utah for the purpose of work or education must also register within ten days of arriving in the state. The length of registration for these offenders will also be based on the laws of the previous state of residency. Repeat and habitual sex offenders must register for life. Additionally, juvenile offenders who recommit a sex crime may have to register for life.
Penalties for Non-Compliance
If an individual who has been convicted of a sexual crime in Utah fails to register or fails to notify the law enforcement agencies about a change in residential address, the offender can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, for which the penalty is a 90 day prison sentence and one year of probation. Sex offenders who commit a felony regarding registration will be subject to mandatory registration for life.
For more information on the Utah sex offender list, visit the website of the Department of Corrections at http://corrections.utah.gov/contenthome/homepage.asp. You can also contact the Department at:
Utah Department of Corrections Administration Building
14717 S. Minuteman Dr.
Draper, UT 84020